I Have a Dream, too

20130120-201915.jpg

Martin Luther King, Jr. once stood in front of a huge gathering of people and proclaimed “I have a dream today!” He died for that dream. Many have proclaimed to have that same dream. This is my take on it.

I don’t spend much time thinking my way is the best for mankind. This, however, is one of those times.

I don’t get why a person is disliked, attacked, held back, or even killed only because of the color of their skin, they’re sexual orientation, or even religious backgrounds. There are SO many other, legitimate reasons to hate somebody; they slept with your wife, stole something from you, cut you off in traffic. Okay, I’m being ridiculous about the last one, but it’s still better than hating due to things that do not effect you in the least.

So your neighbor is black… So what? Unless they’re rolling in with a crew packing heat and partying all night, what difference does their color make? If it was a white dude partying all night next door, you’d hate him just as much (and for better reasons!)

So what if your coworker is gay? Unless he’s making aggressive advances to you daily, how are his after hours adventures bothering you?

This can apply to virtually any situation. What does this trait do to you that is so terrible? Because their different than you? The Hell you say!

Difference is how we learn. I’ve had the pleasure of talking with a coworker that experienced “the other side” in the 60s and 70s. I wasn’t around in the 60s and if it didn’t happen in my neighborhood in the 70s, I didn’t know about it. I found his stories fascinating about how people can be so closed-minded and full of misplaced rage. I would not have been able to hear his stories had I’d been a racist.

I, for one, enjoy getting different perspectives on subjects. I’ve spent hours discussing religion with Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Jewish, fellow Catholics, and Atheists. None of them ending with threats, profanity, or even ill will. Sometimes, people can see the light in ways they’ve never thought of before. There’s nothing wrong with enlightenment, right? (Plus, I learned that people think Catholics have named God Art Hallowbee. You know, “Our Father, who’s ART in Heaven. HALLOWBEE thy name.”)

It’s 2013, time to start thinking differently, folks! In this way, and pretty much this way alone, my way is the best way.

I believe in basing my decisions on who a person is, not what they are.

That’s the dream I have today.

Leave a Reply

