It Doesn’t Matter What Anybody Thinks… Is That The Problem?

When I was growing up, a large factor of why I didn’t do the “wrong” thing was because I didn’t want my parents disappointed in me. As I got older, it was mainly “because it’s wrong”. I think that fear of disappointment served me well in my early decision making and, to a degree, still works today.

Is that the problem with today’s youth and their increasing level of violence, disrespect and general disregard for others? Have we brought them up too much under this mantra:

20130202-053437.jpg

Have we instilled too much self-confidence that kids are only concerned with pleasing themselves without the slightest hesitation on how it may effect the world around them?

Much like anything else, moderation may have been beneficial, but hammering it home may prove to be detrimental.

Leave a Reply

