The Best Advice I Ever Received

It was my High School Graduation Day.  The gathering at my parents’ house was starting to wind down and my Great Uncle John was leaving.  Dad and I walked him down the driveway, the two of them talking finances (as usual) when John turned to me, shook my hand, congratulated me, and said the following:

Ryan, there are going to be days where it looks like the world is against you and there is no beacon of hope on the horizon.  In those moments, just remember to take it one day at a time.  Everything can be dealt with for one day.

Those words have served me well over the years.  Money trouble, girl/boy trouble, car breaks down, house needs repair, losing jobs, losing friends, losing families, death, war, crime, you name it.

Just making it to the end of the day where you can crawl back into bed and hit the reset button is all you can ask for somedays.

Do you think that’s a foolish notion?  How many of you have spent that first special night with that special someone praying that the night would never end?

Does a positive outlook make it any less foolish?

In your darkest hour, just take it one day at a time.  The sun will set.  The sun will rise again.  And so will you.

Leave a Reply

