Don’t Yuck Someone Else’s Yum

In the duration of time known as my life, I have enjoyed many things.

  • Superheros (Especially Batman)
  • Professional Wrestling
  • Videography
  • Photography
  • Cleveland Browns (Actually, the Pittsburgh Steelers until Bradshaw retired)
  • Cleveland Indians
  • Pittsburgh Penguins (Because Cleveland has no hockey team!)
  • Plastic Canvas work
  • Dungeons and Dragons (and other role playing games)
  • Video Games

The thing that they (and the other things I have or do enjoy that I didn’t list) all have in common is that someone is ALWAYS waiting in the wings to tell me how stupid it is.  What’s that about?  I was watching an episode of “Necessary Roughness” on USA where two of the teenage characters were discussing ice cream.  The boy let the girl try some of his Butterscotch ice cream and she said it was terrible.  He responded with “Don’t yuck my yum.”  It was a house rule that even if you didn’t like what another person was doing (illegal things, outstanding) you didn’t come down on it.
yuck-my-yum

Back to society, who the hell made you the end all be all authority of what is cool?  I don’t like rock climbing or taking scrapbooking but I am not going to sit there and tell you how stupid you are for partaking in the activity.  All you are doing is adding unnecessary bad vibes in the world.

images-8

Just walk away, go pierce something and leave me and the rest of my Fantasy Football League buddies get on with our draft!

fantasy2006

One thought on “Don’t Yuck Someone Else’s Yum

  1. I love this phrase! Mom always said…if you have nothing nice to say don’t say it. Why rain on someone else’s parade? As you say, all it does is add bad vibes to the world. Thanks for sharing this : )

Leave a Reply

