Drugs and Addiction

I’ll just come right out with it.  I have never done drugs that haven’t been prescribed by a physician. NEVER. A lot of people don’t believe that, but it’s true. Oh sure, I’ve had the “contact buzz” at concerts and other social gatherings. But to this day, I couldn’t be the first to smell the smoke and tell you with certainty that some one was “blazing up” (if that’s even the term.)

I’m not going to stand on a soapbox and condemn all of you that have done (or are doing) any kind of drugs. I’ve always believed that you should do what you feel is right. Just don’t force anybody else to join you and don’t put anybody else in harm’s way. That goes for drugs, religion, sports teams, shirt color, whatever you got. What I want to talk about is this constant rally around those who go to far, overdose, and the people flock to scream “what a tragedy!”  (Corey Monteith is my poster child for this one.)

Are we REALLY, as a world-wide society, still stunned at the effects of illegal drugs? Really? Let’s look at some notable “celebrity” deaths due to drug overdoses:

  • 1970- Janis Joplin, Muscian, Heroin
  • 1971- Coco Chanel, Fashion Designer, Heroin and Opiates
  • 1977- Elvis Presley, Singer, a laundry list of different drugs
  • 1979- Sid Vicious, Musician, Suicide via Heroin
  • 1982- John Belushi, Comedian, Speedball
  • 1986- Len Bias, Basketball Player, Cocaine
  • 1993- River Phoenix, Actor, Heroin and Cocaine
  • 1997- Chris Farley, Comedian, Cocaine and Morphine
  • 2007- Anna Nicole Smith, Playmate, Chloral Hydrate and various Benzodiazepines
  • 2008- Heath Ledger, Actor, Overdose on a cocktail of prescribed drugs
  • 2012- Whitney Houston, Singer, Cocaine
  • 2013- Corey Monteith, Actor, Heroin
  • 2014- Philip Seymour Hoffman, Actor, Heroin

Damn near every time a celebrity dies due to a drug overdose, we have every news station doing a special on the effects of the particular drug that took them out.  This list I provided predates MY birth, let alone a great number of you who are reading this.  There is NO reason why ANYBODY should be saying “HOLY SHIT!  I DIDN’T KNOW DRUGS COULD DO THAT TO ME!” A bigger question is how many people knew about their addictions, contributed to it, and it didn’t phase them one bit after their deaths?

Maybe someone can explain this to me.  With this short sample of a list you can look up anywhere, why in the hell would you still follow the white rabbit down that bunny trail?  I know, I know, we’re all going to die anyway.  I just don’t understand why you want/need to take anything like that.  I don’t understand why people won’t go out unless there will be alcohol involved (but THAT is a different blog.)

I know some of my friends use. That’s fine. They don’t do it around me, they have never forced me to do it. It hasn’t gotten to the point where it has taken over their lives. They do their thing, I do mine. That doesn’t make me like you less or hate you more.  If any of my family or friends go crazy and overdose, I will try to intervene, if given the chance.  I will morn at their graveside if that time comes.  I will miss being able to spend time with them. I will cherish the memories we made together.

I will not, however, be stunned at the effects of the act.

Leave a Reply

